Ubuntu naming conventions

Ubuntu is the most wildly used operating system after Microsoft windows. It is easy to use. Even though after the introduction of unity panel, it lost some of of the users, who was not satisfied with gnome session fall back.
Ubuntu got a big community and it releases its updates and versions in time.
The fun part is it is known to have the most interesting  release code names.

Let us see how they are naming their operating system. The naming convention / scheme of Ubuntu is as follow:-

The official name of an Ubuntu release is “Ubuntu X.YY” with X representing the year (minus 2000) and YY representing the month of eventual release within in that year. Normally The releases are on April and October (X.04 and X.10) Ubuntu’s first release, made in 2004 October (10th month) was Ubuntu 4.10.

All the LTS (Long Term Support) releases are supported for five years. The last LTS release was Ubuntu 10.04 LTS and Next LTS release is due on April 2012, It will be Ubuntu 12.04 LTS. LTS are released every tw years in the month of April.

All the releases got a code name,  Except for the first two releases, rest all are in alphabetical order.

Ubuntu Version Release Code Name month year
4.10 Warty Warthog October 2004
5.04 Hoary Hedgehog April 2005
5.10 Breezy  Badger October 2005
6.06 LTS Dapper Drake June 2006
6.10 Edgy Eft October 2006
7.04 Feisty Fawn April 2007
7.10 Gutsy Gibbon October 2007
8.04 LTS Hardy Heron April 2008
8.10 Intrepid ibex October 2008
9.04 Jaunty Jackalope April 2009
9.10 Karmic Koala October 2009
10.04 LTS Lucid Lynx April 2010
10.10 Maverick Meerkat October 2010
11.04 Natty Narwhal April 2011
11.10 Oneiric Ocelot October 2011
12.04 LTS Precise Pangolin April 2012


12.10 Quantal Quetzal October 2012
13.04 Raring Ringtail April 2013
13.10 Saucy Salamander October 2013
14.04 LTS Trusty Tahr (LTS) April 2014
14.10 Utopic Unicorn October 2013

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.